The world’s most popular messaging platform WhatsApp has made a good attempt to stay ahead of the competition by being responsive to consumer demands. The platform, owned by Facebooks’s parent company Meta, has managed to frequently release updates that make it friendlier to users.
In the recently released updates, the platform tightened privacy features, with three new updates: allowing users to exit groups silently, choosing who can see them online and blocking screenshots for view-once messages.
Let’s explore each of these features in detail:
Leave groups silently: Previously, anyone could see who has left a WhatsApp group, but this feature now ensures that only admins will be notified when a member leaves. It is expected to be rolled out in a month. This feature is likely to help settle unfriendly discussions that arise from members exiting groups.
Choose who can see you online: WhatsApp has for a while experimented with features that give power to users to decide who can see them when they are online. Previously, users could use the clone version WhatsApp GB or “hide last seen” to mast their online presence. With the new feature, users are now more empowered to control who can see when they are online
Blocking screenshots for view-once messages: View-once messages allow users to share photos or text without leaving a permanent digital record. However, clever users could still screenshot such private messages and use them later. WhatsApp now aims to block taking screenshots of such messages, although the company has said the feature is still being tested and will be rolled out soon.
Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg has said that they intend to continuously use inventive ways to make the system more user-friendly.
“We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.” said in a statement.